Forgive others, including other cats, continued…

seekgod

So, after I shared my first post on Forgiving Others, including other cats, My friend Jamie pointed out to me that it’s often harder for us to forgive ourselves and why was that? It’s a puzzling thing about we judge ourselves with a different measure than we do others. For some of us, we are much harsher on ourselves than we would ever be with others and it is much harder to forgive ourselves.

The day after my cat got attacked by the neighbor-landlord’s kitties, my landlord brought me a piece of mail that was delivered to her box and said she heard about the catfight and she was sorry about it. I told her it’s no problem, my cat’s ok, and it’s all good. I ended up telling her about the previous time that her kitty attacked mine and my cat had to go to the vet. She said she was sorry to hear about that, and I had to reassure her that it was a good thing, my cat got a checkup and is now up-to-date on her kitty shots. So I wanted to do a follow up post because it would suck if my landlord ever read my last post without the follow up explanation that it’s all good and everything is ok. God took a troubling (to me and my cat anyways) situation and used it for good. This is often how God works, even though it’s not always easy or sometimes, even possible, to see the good while we are in the midst of a stessful situation, or struggling, etc.

An example of how God uses things for his good can be found with the story of Joseph and his brothers in Genesis.

“But Joseph said to them, ‘Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.’ And he reassured them and spoke kindly to them.” (Genesis 50:19-21)

How’s that forgiveness? Joseph’s brothers basically tried to kill him, then he turns around after being reunited with them and tells them that God is going to do good with everything so no worries. Oh and by-the-way, don’t worry about food, housing or anything, he kindly tells his brothers that he is going to take care of it all- not just for them but also for their children.

Can you imagine? It doesn’t say how his brothers reacted to this, or what happened next. What we do see next is the at the time of Joseph’s death, and his unwavering faith in God. He assures his brothers, “God will surely come to your aid” (Gen. 50:24, 25). How would you have reacted if you were shown such generosity and kindness after trying to harm someone?

God is good and uses everything to his good!

Next, I wanted to talk for a moment about vulnerability. I’ve been watching these Women of Faith webcasts with Sheila Walsh, and towards the end of the Episode 4: Peace in the Storm, Walsh talks about being careful who you share your story with.

Starting at about 26:30 into the webcast, Walsh says how we need each other, and we need to be honest and real with each other, telling our stories and our truths without fear, however, we also need to be careful about who we share our stories with. Walsh quotes Matthew 7:6, which placed into context, is towards the end of a long teaching Jesus is giving his disciples and the masses, what is often referred to as the ‘Sermon on the Mount.’ Jesus says, “Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces.” (Matt. 7:6 NIV)

Walsh’s interpretation of not casting your pearls before swine, in this instance a story of a more vulnerable nature, is that we shouldn’t take what is precious to you and give it to someone who is just going to trample it and not value it. She offers that we might guard our hearts, and share our most precious stories with a few friends who we can be open and honest with.

This made me think how I was vulnerable in sharing that I was angry at the other cats for attacking mine, and how I was honest in sharing the piece of human emotion I had about wanting to hurt the other cats for a moment. So I just wanted to say that I wouldn’t hurt her cats ever, and I do realize how that was a vulnerable thing to share. However, I do believe if we are able to be open and honest with each other, that we will be connected in a more real and truthful way.

I could go into the extent of my own depravity, although I certainly have more work to do in this area of my very human heart. That would be another post (or several) in and of itself. I think however, that this is where Christianity is spot on. Other religions say that we are basically good and things of that nature. Christianity is the only one that says we are so depraved, utterly human and capable of such terrible evils, horror and destruction. Christianity, it seems, is coming from the truth that we are basically bad and this is why we need Jesus so desperately. And maybe I have it all wrong, but that is where I am at in my walk, what I have learned thus far.

What’s more, when you begin to learn the extent of your own depravity, you begin to see just how good God is! So whether or not we are able to forgive ourselves, Jesus will always meet us where we are to take our depraved and broken hearts, giving this all to him in exchange for his goodness, love and forgiveness. Everything eventually works out for God’s good in the end.

Peace,

kayla

Share your thoughts